JAZZ BRÉSILIEN

« Rodrigo Simões will quickly make you forget the cold and the spray of winter with Brazilian Jazz. With this new album which features singer Sonia Johnson and saxophonist Jean-Pierre Zanella, we have a resolutely happy and dancing record. »

Christophe Rodriguez, Sorties Jazz Nights

« Brazilian jazz rhymes very often with bossa-nova, but Rodrigo Simões opens the door to much more than the style invented and popularized among others by Antonio Carlos Jobim. It takes us on the paths of the maracatú, the forró and the samba. »

Frédéric Cardin, ICI Musique

« Probably influenced by a line of soloists like Jim Hall, Pat Martino or Toninho Horta, he finds his phrasing, his own sound, while demonstrating a good quality of playing with the mandolin and the acoustic guitar. »

Ralph Boncy, VOIR

AOS VELHOS AMIGOS

Aos Velhos Amigos ("to old friends") is the first album by Rodrigo Simões. A mixture of original compositions and emblematic songs of Paraná, it is a tribute to this little-known region of Brazil where the musician was born. There is a cover of Gambá, a folk theme of fandango, and As mocinhas da Cidade, a song by the country duo Belarmino & Gabriela.

Bass, accordion, mandolin, electric guitar, acoustic guitar and also viola caipira are in the spotlight.

The album cover offers a panoramic view of the incredible Guartelá canyon under the lens of João Inácio.

© 2020 by PRODUCOES SIMOES

LOGO NO JazzBresilien.png

ADD 1 TECO

(2022)
Singles1_vf.jpg

« Add 1 teco – la toute première samba en 9/4 – est le fruit d’une astucieuse modification rythmique de la samba qui sort des sentiers battus. »

Claude Thibault, Sorties Jazz Nights

JAZZ BRÉSILIEN

(2018)

«  Rodrigo Simões vous fera vite oublier le froid et les embruns de l’hiver avec Jazz brésilien. Avec ce nouvel album qui met en vedette la chanteuse Sonia Johnson et le saxophoniste Jean-Pierre Zanella, nous tenons un disque résolument joyeux et dansant. »

Christophe Rodriguez, Sorties Jazz Nights

« Jazz brésilien rime très souvent avec bossa-nova, mais Rodrigo Simões ouvre la porte à bien plus qu’au style inventé et popularisé entre autres par Antonio Carlos Jobim. Il nous emmène sur les chemins du maracatú, du forró et de la samba. »

Frédéric Cardin, ICI Musique

« Probablement influencé par une lignée de solistes comme Jim Hall, Pat Martino ou Toninho Horta, il trouve son phrasé, sa sonorité propre, tout en démontrant une belle qualité de jeu à la mandoline et à la guitare acoustique. »

Ralph Boncy, VOIR

« That’s really a discover. To me… you’re taking the classical stuff and you refresh it !!! »

Marty Lebovitz, Basa Basa, CKUT 90.3 FM

cover.jpg
FACTOR-Combined-CMYK-White.png
CanadaWordmark-Combined-CMYK-white.png
Meilleur album de jazz brésilien - Global Music Awards (médaille de Bronze)
Nomination meilleur album jazz vocal - 
Independent Music Awards
Les 5 meilleurs CD jazz 2018 du Québec - Sorties Jazz Nights
a0946558707_10.jpg

AOS VELHOS AMIGOS

(2013)

Aos Velhos Amigos ("aux vieux amis") est le premier album de Rodrigo Simões. Mélange de compositions originales et de chansons emblématiques du Paraná, il est un hommage à cette région peu connue du Brésil où le musicien est né. On trouve une reprise de Gambá, un thème folkorique de fandango, et de As mocinhas da Cidade, une chanson du duo country Belarmino & Gabriela.

La basse, l’accordéon, la mandoline, la guitare électrique, la guitare acoustique mais aussi la viola caipira sont à l’honneur.

La couverture de l’album offre une vue panoramique de l’incroyable canyon du Guartelá sous l’objectif de João Inácio.